Our homeschool courses are designed by scientists and educators to supplement homeschool science curricula through fun, hands-on science experiments and activities. Students can register as a course or as individual workshops. A minimum of 6 participants is required for each class. There is a 10% sibling discount for siblings registering for the same class.


SPRING COURSE SCHEDULE - January 28 - May 3, 2019 (12 weeks, no classes February 15-22, March 11, April 1-5 )


JUNIOR PALEONTOLOGISTS
Tuesdays, Jan 29 – May 7 (no class Feb 19, Apr 2; 12 weeks) 
10:30am-11:45am
Ages 6-8
Investigate Prehistoric Earth through hands-on paleontological experiments and activities. Junior Paleontologists study fossil evidence, use methods scientists use to find fossilized artifacts, learn about ancient ecosystems, and explore the geography of prehistoric times.  

  • Dinosaur Fossil Dig – Tuesday, February 5

  • Mapping Skills – Tuesday, February 12

  • Plate Tectonics and Earth’s Forces – Tuesday, February 26

  • Prehistoric Plants – Tuesday, March 5

  • Prehistoric Herbivores– Tuesday, March 12

  • Prehistoric Carnivore Food Web – Tuesday, March 19

  • Geography and Ancient Ecosystems – Tuesday, March 26

  • Adaptation and Ancestors – Tuesday, April 9

  • Trace Fossils – Tuesday, April 16

  • Dinosaur Poop – Tuesday, April 23

  • Paleontological Treasure Hunt – Tuesday, April 30​

  • Geological Timeline – Tuesday, May 7 (make up for snow day)

Location: Science Center (suite 5)
$220 full course/$20 drop-in class
REGISTER



COMPUTER LOGIC
Thursdays, Jan 31 – May 2 (no class Feb 21, Apr 4; 12 weeks)
9:30am-10:45am
Ages 6-8
Through offline and online programming activities, students learn the basics of coding and computational thinking. Offline, students will practice giving logical directions, learn how to troubleshoot with the directions are not clear, look inside a computer to see how it works and more. Online coding skills are based on drag and drop commands, and are designed for young students with very little to no coding experience. Students must bring their own tablet or laptop on days designated “Online Coding Skills.”

  • Maze Sequencing (offline) – Thursday, January 31

  • Online Coding Skills – Thursday, February 7

  • Cup Stacking Commands (offline) – Thursday, February 14

  • Online Coding Skills – Thursday, February 28

  • Computer Dissection (offline) – Thursday, March 7

  • Online Coding Skills – Thursday, March 14

  • Debugging (offline) – Thursday, March 21

  • Online Coding Skills – Thursday, March 28

  • Program Loops (offline) – Thursday, April 11

  • Online Coding Skills – Thursday, April 18

  • Ozobot Programming (offline) – Thursday, April 25

  • Online Coding Skills – Thursday, May 2

Location: Science Center (suite 5)
$220 full course/$20 drop-in class
REGISTER



SCIENTISTS-IN-TRAINING
Thursdays, Jan 31 – May 2 (no class Feb 21, Apr 4; 12 weeks)
11:00am-12:15pm
Ages 6-8
Students explore a different field of science each week by conducting experiments and learning about an important scientist in each field. We explore many areas of science, including microbiology, physics, geology, genetics, entomology, astronomy and more.

  • Botany – Thursday, January 31

  • Microbiology – Thursday, February 7

  • Chemistry – Thursday, February 14

  • Ichthyology – Thursday, February 28

  • Entomology – Thursday, March 7

  • Meteorology – Thursday, March 14

  • Astronomy – Thursday, March 21

  • Marine Biology – Thursday, March 28

  • Ecology – Thursday, April 11

  • Geology – Thursday, April 18

  • Physics – Thursday, April 25

  • Genetics – Thursday, May 2

Location: Science Center (suite 5)
$220 full course/$20 drop-in class
REGISTER


​​

​homeschool courses - Elementary (ages 6-8)

2500 Old Alabama Rd.
Suite 5 - Science Center    
Suite 21 - STEM Lab 
Roswell, GA 30076    
770 641-9336